Posted in Book Review

Book Review- The Jane Austen Investigates- The Abbey Mystery

THE COVER IS AWESOME!!!!! LOVE IT (As most of you already know I am obsessed with books with pretty covers heheh)

Summary

Jane Austen turns detective in Julia Golding’s exciting new historical mystery series! Perfect for fans of Nancy Drew, Enola Holmes and Sally Lockhart.

1789. A young Jane Austen turns detective as she seeks to solve the mysterious happenings at Southmoor Abbey. When a carriage accident forces a change of plans, 13-year-old Jane is sent to be a companion to Lady Cromwell for a week as the household prepares to celebrate the eldest son’s coming-of-age party. While there, Jane vows to solve the mystery of the ghostly monk in the Abbey grounds – for she does not believe in such stories! 

But this is not the only strange occurrence for adventurous young Jane to investigate. There are spooky night-time investigations, an Indian girl with secret talents, a library fire, two prize horses in danger, and friends to save from false accusations.  

With notebook in hand and faithful dog Grandison by her side, will Jane overcome the obstacles to finding the truth? 

My Views

YASSS
This book was like a Nancy Drew book (I love those and this was exactly like it so safe to say I loved it) except set 200 years before, the way the mystery was described and the story develops is awesome, and I love the way young Jane writes (especially her c letter to her sister and the d letter to deepti, it was so interesting!).

This book was perfect in a way, it was fast paces, though I wish it had been a bit slower and we could have gotten to know more about Jane’s family.

All in all, it was a fun read, I hope there are more books in this series, it’s an awesome one! (Though I really wish there was a ghost)

My rating 4.5 out of 5

About the Author

Julia Golding

Julia Golding is a multi-award winning writer for adults and young adults. She also writes under the pen names of Joss Stirling and Eve Edwards.

In 2019 she was writer-in-residence at the Royal Institution, the home of science. She can be found taking an early nineteenth century perspective on modern life in her Jane Austen podcast ‘What Would Jane Do?’. 

She is also a screenwriter, working on a number of feature and TV series concepts, featuring strong female leads.

Former British diplomat and Oxfam policy adviser, she has now published over fifty books in genres ranging from historical adventure to fantasy. Read carefully and you’ll spot all sorts of material from her diplomatic and Oxfam careers popping up in unexpected places. She has a doctorate in English literature from Oxford.

Goodreads | Website

Book links

Amazon | Goodreads

This most certainly was an interesting book, have you read it?
Are you planning to read it?
Let me know in the comments!
Stay safe!
Keep reading!!!